Отображение сетевого контента Отображение сетевого контента

Хорошая аналогия

 Томас Одхиамбо

Иногда людям кажется, что во время тишины ничего не происходит, нет движения, нет событий. Но мой опыт говорит о том, что именно в тишине происходит великое действо, и это очень глубокий опыт. Подходящей аналогией здесь может быть бабочка.

Ученые, изучавшие жизненный цикл бабочек, расскажут вам, что гусеница, которая позже превратится в бабочку, и сама бабочка кажутся совершенно разными видами.  Гусеница невероятно прожорлива, она поглощает пищу почти 24 часа в сутки, съедая количество пищи, в несколько раз превышающее ее собственный вес, причем с такой скоростью, что примерно за 10 дней полностью вырастает. 

По контрасту с этим бабочка питается очень избирательно, она садится то на один цветок, то на другой и собирает нектар.

Между этими двумя состояниями — прожорливым и избирательным, нежным — есть состояние кокона, или куколки. Куколка полностью неподвижна, абсолютно. В этом состоянии она в течение трёх-четырёх недель совсем не двигается, ничем не питается, максимум, может шевельнуть хвостиком. Дело в том, что в это время происходит глубокое преобразование на биохимическом и физиологическом уровнях. Весь организм целиком  преобразуется в абсолютно новое существо. Вот почему люди раньше думали, что гусеница и бабочка — это разные виды, никак не связанные между собой. Но сейчас мы знаем, что это одно и то же насекомое, трансформирующееся в тишине кокона.

Суть моей аналогии в том, что в тишине вы погружаетесь вглубь себя — и тогда в вас происходит преобразование. И когда вы выходите из состояния тишины, вы уже совсем другая, глубоко изменившаяся личность.

BLOG

Web Content Display Web Content Display

A Good Analogy

 By Thomas Odhiambo

THERE IS AN IMPRESSION SOME PEOPLE HAVE that during silence nothing is happening.  There is no movement, no engagement.  My own experience is that a great deal is happening during silence and that, in fact, it is a profound experience.  A good analogy here is that of the butterfly.

Scientists who have studied the life cycle of the caterpillar becoming a butterfly can tell you that they seem to be almost entirely different species.  A caterpillar is a voracious feeder -- a massive eater, eating almost continuously 24 hours a day.  It eats several times its weight in volume of food.  It feeds so fast that those who are studying it closely can literally see it grow in the 10 days or so that it is a caterpillar. 

In contrast a butterfly is a very selective feeder, flitting from one flower to another feeding on nectar which in some cultures has been referred to as the food of the gods.  The butterfly is a very delicate animal.

In between these two – the voracious feeder and the delicate feeder—is the pupa, the chrysalis.  It is totally immobile – totally.  It does not feed at all for the three or four weeks it is in that stage.  It does not move at all.  Maybe it will wiggle its tail, but that is the extent of its movement.  My point is that biochemically and physiologically a profound transformation is taking place during this period.  The whole organism is being transformed into a totally new animal.  That is why in the old days people thought that a caterpillar and a butterfly were totally different animals that didn't share anything.  But now we know that it is the same animal…transformed in the silence of the chrysalis.

The point of my analogy is that during silence, when you have gone inside, a transformation takes place in you, and by the time you finish the silence you are a different person – transformed profoundly.

 

BLOG